Carrot Cupcakes

Since I was a kid and upto now that am 34, I really hate carrots! Even if it’s cooked in a viand like Mechado or Curry.  What my sis-in-law (Bro’s wife) would do before is to grate it and mix it in fried rice, lumpiang shanghai or anywhere she can mix it with so just we can eat it.

For so long, I really never tried eating carrot cakes since I thought it has that distinctive taste.  I was already dating Dino when I first tried carrot cakes.  Hmmm.. If I remember it right, I think it was Leah’s favorite that’s why I tried it.  They have it at home so I tried and wow! it was delish!! 🙂

I decided to give this a try after I read Maqui’s post.  I did not exactly copied her recipe, since I want to use my pecan nuts that’s been sitting in our ref for a few months now.  So I settle down with the one I got from Real Simple.  Everybody liked it.  Even Leah gave it a two thumbs up. 🙂

Carrot Cupcakes
Carrot Cupcakes

Ingredients:

  • 1 1/2 cups all purpose flour
  • 1 tsp cinammon
  • 1/4 tsp nutmet
  • 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp baking soda
  • 1 cup packed brown sugar
  • 1 stick melted butter (instead of using canola oil, I copied this from Maqui’s recipe)
  • 1 large egg
  • 2 cups of carrots (no so packed)
  • 1/2 cup chopped roasted pecans

How to:

  • Whisk together all purpose flour, baking powder, baking soda, nutmeg and cinammon
  • In a separate bowl, whisk together melted butter and sugar
  • Add egg to the butter mixture and whisk until well blended
  • Add in the carrots to the butter mixture
  • Add in the flour mixture to the carrot mixture until well combined (I did this gradually)
  • fold in the pecan nuts
  • Scoop into cupcake cup-lined muffin pans
  • Bake for 20 to 25 minutes at 350 deg F or until toothpick comes out clean

YUMMY!! 🙂

 

 

2 thoughts on “Carrot Cupcakes

Leave a Reply

