Semi Flourless Brownies with Walnuts and Mallows

Perfect!!! That’s how I will describe my brownies! hahaha.. Sorry for the yabang factor, but it was really good that I myself can’t help myself from eating it. I usually don’t eat much of what I bake.  But this one is really an exemption.  It’s not too sweet and it’s really heavenly! 🙂

It’s my third time to cook this and I will say that I now have perfected this recipe.  I tried this first when my officemate got a whole block of Beryl’s baking chocolate as a gift and she don’t know what to do with it.  Knowing that I bake, she gave it to me instead.  So I searched for the perfect recipe choco fudge photo there is in the net.  (Can’t find the source now..)

First try, I decided to replace half of the cocoa with APF and it was nice and yummy.  Second time, I did the flourless version and it was too rich.  So this time, I go with my first attempt and decided to add mallows and some nuts to give it more texture. I also lessen the sugar so it will not be too sweet.

Semi Flourless Brownies with Walnuts and Mallows
Semi Flourless Brownies with Walnuts and Mallows

Ingredients:

  • 250 grams bittersweet baking chocolate
  • 125 grams dark sweetened baking chocolate
  • 1 stick butter
  • 4 medium sized eggs
  • 1/4 cup all purpose flour
  • 1/4 cup cocoa powder (unsweetened)
  • 2/3 cup (less 3 tbsp) white sugar
  • 100 grams roasted walnuts (coarsely chopped)
  • mallows

How to:

  • Melt the baking chocolates together with butter on a double broiler, set aside to cool
  • On a separate bowl, mix together all dry ingredients – all purpose flour, cocoa and sugar
  • When chocolate mixture drops temperature, mix in egg, one at a time (used wire whisk all the way)
  • Mix in  flour – cocoa mixuture until well blended
  • Fold in mallows and nuts
  • Pour mixture to a line square pan
  • Baked in a preheated oven at 180 degrees Celcius for 30 minutes or until toothpick test comes out clean

Ok, sorry, since we are in a hurry for the mass, I initially baked it at 180 degrees Celcius for 25 minutes and increase it to 200 degrees and baked for another 10 minutes.

Here’s what’s bugging me, I know I fold in all the mallows but after baking it, all the mallows were on top.  Paano nangyari un? Is there any science to this? But it was all nice and the mallows are gooey on top kaya it gives it extra niceness.  Am sorry am really not good at describing food!! I ask you guys to try this recipe and judge it from there.  But I tell you this is really winner! 🙂

PS:  Time does not make you know a person very well.. after 12 years of being with Dino, mantakin nyo un, now ko lang nalaman na ayaw pala nya ng walnuts, pecans daw ang gamitin ko next time. Aba!! Choosy! hahaha 🙂

2 thoughts on “Semi Flourless Brownies with Walnuts and Mallows

Leave a Reply

