Liam’s Ice Cream Party

As promised, my sis-in-law, Leah, of The Bright Spot, is my guest blogger today.  Since it was her bright idea to do an ice cream party for Liam ( not to mentioned, she also put so much effort researching for a theme, preparing the props and did not join us for dinner so she and Donna can set  up the table while we’re out).  I asked if she could be so humble to write a post here… and we’re so lucky she agreed!! yey!

Without any further ado.. Here’s her story.. 🙂

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *

When Juvvy told me that she wanted an ice cream party for Liam, to be held at The Ranch Resort and Farm (or Gaite Ranch) in Toledo (because it was decided that Liam’s birthday will be spent out of town with the family, instead of holding a party here in Manila), my first consideration was: can we get ice cream inside the resort?  You see, the city of Toledo is a 2-4 hours drive (by land) from the city and that depends on the route you will take.  I have no idea how far will the first grocery be from the resort.

But anyway, we figured we would be able to find ice cream there so Juvvy and I proceeded with the planning for the party essentials to bring to the resort.  I took charge of the party props and Juvvy took care of the ice cream toppings.

We decided on a blue/green/brown color theme because I realized that most of the craft and party items I have at home are in these colors.

42b7c60c366311e3914022000a9e0653_7

abb33ec0366811e3853522000ae802d0_7

Also, Liam’s birthday cake (with bugs and insects as theme), is done in blue and green fondant icing!  Here’s a sneak preview of his cake:

P1130410b

Alas, our trip going to The Ranch took longer than we thought and we arrived there late in the afternoon already.  So we decided to postpone the ice cream party to the following day, and to have it at home instead.

The challenge now was how to keep it a secret from Liam.  We wanted to surprise him with that.

It was decided that the whole family will have dinner outside, and I will be left at home (with Ate Donna) to prepare the house for the ice cream party.

Here was Liam’s reaction when he saw his ice cream table (sorry, lousy pic hehe!):

P1130646b

The birthday boy was super happy!

Here’s the ice cream bar in cool colors of blue, green and white, with hints of brown:

P1130589b

Liam’s stuffed dog toy, Aw-Aw, was a last minute addition to the ice cream table because I can already hear Liam running towards the door, and I am not yet done putting away Liam’s toys, including Aw-Aw.  So I placed him at the table to guard the food, hihi!

There weren’t much food stuff, actually, just the ice cream toppings, some macarons and the kalamansi and carrot cupcakes that Juvvy baked earlier.  However, I made sure that everything in the table followed our color theme and are neatly arranged (para maganda sa picture, di ba? Hehe!)

P1130593b

P1130642b

The buntings were made the day before I left to Cebu.  I printed and cut the letters, and had my officemate stick them in these colored construction papers that I have on stock at home.  I used the baker’s twine I bought from Paper Chic Studio to hold the flags.

The ice cream toppings were served in plastic containers that are resealable.  Better this way para all left-overs can stored right away cos nasa plastic containers na sila.

P1130602b

You’ll noticed that I also used blue and green pens and washi tapes for the labels.  Ganyan ako ka-OC hehe!

Here’s Liam making his own ice cream ‘art’.

P1130651b

P1130655b

I asked Juvvy to buy macarons from Vanille Cafe and Patisserie (click here for my blog post on this patisserie), and specifically requested for macarons in shades of blue, green, white and brown.   So aside from ice cream, we had these heavenly macarons in peppermint, vanilla and chocolate flavors, among others, added to our dessert.

P1130616b

P1130615b

I brought with me this cupcake stand that I got from 168 Mall in one of my trips there.  Na-cute-an lang ako kaya binili ko hehe!   Super cheap, I think it’s just P200.00.  Tamang tama ang color (blue), perfect for Liam’s ice cream party.  So Juvvy baked 2 batches of cupcakes (in kalamansi and carrot flavors), which I arranged in the cupcake stand.

P1130610b

Sorry for the weird icing patterns on top of the cupcakes, I failed big time in using the ready whipped cream in spray can.

The cupcakes and the macaroons completed the ice cream bar.

P1130618b

The green paper cups and plates are also from 168 Mall in Divisoria, while the white paper cups with pastel colored lines are from Shopwise (I brought them to Cebu as ‘buffer’).

P1130626b

The paper straws are from Paper Chic Studio and because I forgot to bring the spoons and forks with me, we just used plastic ones bought from a nearby grocery.   Blue washi tape was wrapped around the plastic spoons, and green for the plastic forks.

We are pleased with how everything turned out, given the very short time in which we planned this party.

Juvvy told me that up to this day, Liam still remembers that ice cream night.  So much so that when she asked Liam if he wanted some ice cream, my smart nephew replied: “It is my birthday again?”

Liam’s happiness that night was truly priceless. Although we all forgot to take proper pictures of him when he first saw the table, that big smile on his face will be forever etched in my mind.

Belated Happy Birthday, Liam!   =)

                                                                    * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *

Oh yes!! it was a success!! Seeing Liam’s excitement and bright smile are all proof to that!  Thanks again Ninang Penpen for helping us with the prep and for blogging it here too.. sa uulitin.. hihi.. Hugs! Mwah! 🙂

Leave a Reply

