Adobong Manok sa Gata

Am so glad that my tastebuds changed course already. For past 10 years, I really don’t like eating anything with gata.  (mind you, Gata dishes are one of de Leon’s favorite.. so boohoo for me.. but this is also the reason I knew they love me, as they will always prepare something for me.. hooray!) But now, anything with gata is oh so sarap with Kanin!!

So since, my tongue accepts gata, I searched and tried recipes with Gata already… Sayang lang, was not able to take pics of the other dishes we tried. (mental note: always take pic! always take pic)

Without further ado, here’s my version of Adobong Manok sa Gata, original recipe from Yummy.ph.

Pinatuyong Adobong Manok sa Gata
Pinatuyong Adobong Manok sa Gata

 

Ingredients:

  • Chicken
  • Soy Sauce
  • Vinegar
  • Cracked Pepper
  • Garlic (pounded)
  • Onion (chopped)
  • Ginger (julienned)
  • Bay Leaves
  • Gata (I used canned coconut milk)
  • Fish Sauce
  • Jalapeno Chilies

 

Instructions:

  • Marinate chicken in soy sauce, vinegar and cracked pepper for at least 2 hours (the longer the better)
  • Saute garlic, onion, ginger and bay leaves til fragrant
  • add marinated chicken ’til half cooked
  • add fish sauce to taste
  • add the chilies and pour in coconut milk
  • simmer til cooked

In my case, since this was a Sunday and we don’t have help on a Sunday and Ate Donna went to church, I have to leave the simmering  to attend to Liam, when I asked Dino to turn stove off, it was already dried.  Kaba mode for me, but to our delight.. It was delish!! Dino had his second serving.. muntik na di makakain si Ate Donna. hehehe

If you have good gata recipes, please share. 🙂

One thought on “Adobong Manok sa Gata

Leave a Reply

