CNY Traditions

Aside from the Chinese Lantern Project, I also wanted to start a family tradition for the season.  So, days before Chinese New Year, I researched about Chinese Traditions during CNY.  I learnt that in Chinese countries like China and Taiwan, they celebrate CNY for 15 days!  Imagine!? 15 days of holiday!! WOW!!!  We don’t even celebrate Christmas this long here in the Philippines.  Anyways, aside from this great fact there are many things they do to drive away evil and to lure in good fortune like giving kids Ang Pao with money to make them prosperous, eating noodles for long life and a lot more, I also called my sister and cousin to ask what they usually prepare for the occasion.

Oh well, since it will take too much time and too much food to prepare (and there’s only 4 of us to eat), I opt to make it simpler for us.   I asked Ate Aya (Lilia) to prepare Bam-I for long life and cook Shrimp (something red) for dinner.  I also put a bowl of rice and used chocolate gold coins instead of putting real coins (I just can’t do it, knowing that the coins are dirty, hehe). Also prepared few fruits that we can actually consume. Of course to keep our family close and sweet, I also have yummy tikoy on the table! 🙂

Fruits - I counter those Kiat Kiat and made sure that they are in pairs..
Fruits – I counter those Kiat Kiat and made sure that they are in pairs..
Bowl of rice with chocolate gold coins to Liam's delight! he loved those coins..
Bowl of rice with chocolate gold coins to Liam’s delight! he loved those coins..
Our CNY feast! :) simple yet meaningful.. :)
Our CNY feast! 🙂 simple yet meaningful.. 🙂

Oh well, I know Liam is too young pa to remember and understand this celebration, pero nakakatuwa lng cause until now, he still remembers that eating noodles is for Long Life!! Hmm.. not a bad start right!?

One thought on “CNY Traditions

Leave a Reply

