20 Things (A Letter to Liam)

Dear Liam, 

There are so many things I want to tell you and don’t know how to put them in words. Luckily, a friend of mine tagged me in her FB post. I think this is perfect.  Most of the things I want to tell you is here na and may additions pa. 🙂

TWENTY THINGS A MOM SHOULD TELL HER SON

1. Play a sport.
It will teach you how to win honorably,
lose gracefully, respect authority,
work with others, manage your time
and stay out of trouble.
And maybe even throw or catch.

Mommy’s note:  Aside from all that, it will keep you healthy and there will be a reason for me to cheer for you. 🙂 (okay, I promise to try my best not to be a staged mother.. hehehehe Pero son, you have to understand that we are so proud of you, kaya ganun.. 🙂

 

2. You will set the tone for the sexual relationship.
So don’t take something away from her
that you can’t give back.

Mommy’s note:  Make sure that you are both ready. If possible (I hope it will still be possible sa generation nyo), do it with someone you want to spend the rest of your life with. 

 

3. Use careful aim when you pee.
Somebody’s got to clean that up, you know.

Mommy’s note:  Funny, but so true diba!? so please… 

 

4. Save money when you’re young
because you’re going to need it someday.

 

5. Allow me to introduce you
to the dishwasher, oven,
washing machine, iron,
vacuum, mop and broom.
Now please go use them.

 

6. Pray and be a spiritual leader.

 

7. Don’t ever be a bully
and don’t ever start a fight,
but if some idiot clocks you,
please defend yourself.

Mommy’s note: I had a post about this already.   One of the things I pray that I can instill in you is how to be nice, but not so nice that others will take advantage of you.  How to be tough, but not so tough that you will bully others. Oh well, I know your mabait naman (now that you’re only 2, that is).

 

8. Your knowledge and education is something that nobody can take away from you.

Mommy’s note:  Not only your knowledge and education but your integrity. All these can bring you somewhere someday. And anak, integrity will make you sleep well every night.

 

9. Treat women kindly.

Forever is a long time to live alone
and it’s even longer to live with somebody
who hates your guts.

Mommy’s note:   I hope you’ll learn this from you dad.  🙂

 

10. Take pride in your appearance.

Mommy’s note:  Do I need to say more? 🙂

 

11. Be strong and tender at the same time.

 

12. A woman can do everything that you can do.
This includes her having a successful career
and you changing diapers at 3 A.M.
Mutual respect is the key to a good relationship.

Mommy’s note:  Have I already told you how your dad used to wake up during midnight when your still an infant to help mommy prepare you milk? or change you diaper? or just sit, talk and play with you? Yes, he did all that.. 🙂

 

13. “Yes ma’am” and “yes sir”
still go a long way.

14. The reason that they’re called “private parts”
is because they’re “private”.
Please do not scratch them in public.

Mommy’s notes:  This is one thing that irritates me! Uuuhg!! 

 

15. Peer pressure is a scary thing.
Be a good leader and others will follow.

Mommy’s note:  Remember how daddy always tell you that you are the leader of the pact.  I know you’ll be. 🙂

 

16. Bringing her flowers for no reason is always a good idea.

Mommy’s note: Do you remember how you go to one of the Lola (our neighbor) to ask for flowers?  or how you ask Kuya Lucio to jump to pick those bougainvilleas?  Ahhh.. you are my sweet little boy.  You’ll come home and excitedly give me those flowers. 🙂 

 

17. Be patriotic.

Mommy’s note:  Not so much of this.. 🙂

 

18. Potty humor isn’t the only thing that’s humorous. 

 

19. Please choose your spouse wisely.
My daughter-in-law will be the gatekeeper for me
spending time with you and my grandchildren.

Mommy’s note:  Not only that, remember that she will be the one you will be spending the rest of your life with. So you better choose wisely. 

 

20. Remember to call your mother because I might be missing you.

There, I think this letter said it all, at least for now.  ohh.. I think it lacks one more thing… 

 

21.  Anak, I love you so much. 🙂

 

Mommy

liam 7D13 047

Leave a Reply

