Beef Misono (ala Tokyo Joe)

I guess it’s true what they say that babies prefer food that their mommies eat when they are still in our womb.  I remember when I was still carrying Liam in my tummy and still having morning sickness (can’t understand why they call it morning sickness when you feel it all day long, anyway) I don’t like eating out.  If there’s a time that I should go on field work and have no choice but to eat at restos, only restaurant I can tolerate is Rai Rai Ken.  I only like Kamameshi Fried Rice, Miso Soup and California Maki.  Other than that… ULK!!

Now that Liam eats with us na, we notice that the only cuisine na hindi kame nahihirapan pakainin sya is Japanese Food! Yes, you read it right, Liam loves it!  He loves Miso soup, Misono and any noodles they have. But his favorite is Beef Misono Bowl in Tokyo Joe.  So I thought of looking for a recipe in the net.  Misono pala is stir fried, kasi all recipes I found is dry. The one we are having in TJ’s is very saucy.  Thus, I tried creating my own.

After a few attempts, I think I already got it!

Beef Misono

Ingredients:

  • Beef Sukiyaki Cut
  • 4 portions Water
  • 1 portion Kikoman Soy Sauce
  • 1 portion Mirin
  • 1 portion Oyster Sauce
  • few drops of sesame oil (depends on how strong you like)
  • Salt, Pepper and sugar to taste (Note to self:  Do not add these til last 1 minute of simmering)
  • Finely chopped Garlic
  • Chopped White Onions
  • Conr Starch
  • Toasted Sesame seed (optional, I did not add this in our meal, since Liam’s also eating)

How to:

  • Mix all liquid ingredients and garlic in a pot.
  • Bring to boil
  • Add the beef slices (I dropped them one by one)
  • Simmer for 5 minutes
  • Add in chopped Onions
  • Simmer til onions are translucent
  • Adjust taste to your liking by adding salt, pepper and sugar
  • For thicker sauce, add dissolved cornstarch to the pot
  • Serve on top of Rice with sauteed Bean Sprout on the side
  • Sprinkle with toasted sesame seeds
  • Enjoy with family
One thought on “Beef Misono (ala Tokyo Joe)

Leave a Reply

